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MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS 

REPORT YOUR WORKPLACE INJURY/OCCUPATIONAL 

DISEASE OR REPETITIVE TRAUMA INJURY

800-775-2667 

www.labor.mo.gov/DWC 

 

 If your employer does not provide you with a form to complete to report your injury, you may use this form to 

provide the employer with written notice of your accident or injury; 

 If you choose to use this form it does not replace the incident or accident form that your employer may require you to 

complete; 

 If you choose to use this form, PLEASE DO NOT send it to the state or to the Missouri Division of Workers’ 

Compensation (Division); 

 This is not a Claim for Compensation form; 

 Under Missouri law you are required to report your injury to your employer in writing within 30 days of the injury. 

Failure to report your injury to your employer within 30 days may jeopardize your ability to receive workers’ 

compensation benefits UNLESS the Division or Commission finds that the employer is not prejudiced by failure to 

receive the notice; 

 Under Missouri law, your employer or its workers’ compensation insurance company or third-party administrator 

should arrange for you to receive the medical treatment as may be reasonably required to cure and relieve you from 

the effects of the injury. 

 Under Missouri law, the employer files a separate First Report of Injury with the Division pursuant to 

§287.380, RSMo. 

 

Your written notification to the employer should include the following information: 

Date Written Notice Given:  __________________________________________________________________________  

Name of Person Injured:  _____________________________________________________________________________  

Address of Person Injured:  ___________________________________________________________________________  

Date of Injury: ____/____/________ 

Time of Injury: _____:_____   a.m.  /   p.m. 

Place of Injury:  ____________________________________________________________________________________  

Nature of the Injury:  ________________________________________________________________________________  

 

NOTE: 

 

Failure to provide written notice of your occupational disease or repetitive trauma injury to your employer within 

30 days of the diagnosis of your condition may jeopardize your ability to receive workers’ compensation benefits 

UNLESS the Division or Commission finds that the employer is not prejudiced by failure to receive the notice. 

 

Make a copy of this written notice or the written notice your employer gives you to complete and keep a record of the date 

you provided your notice. If you hand-deliver your notice, keep a record of the date and time of the delivery along with 

the full name and title of the person you delivered it to. 

 

To verify that your injury has been reported or to speak to an Information Specialist, please call the Division’s toll free 

number 800-775-2667. If you experience difficulty in obtaining medical treatment or other benefits, call the number 

above and request Dispute Management Assistance. 
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