DIVISION OF

EMPLOYMENT
SECURITY

Benefit Charges
As Required Under the

Missouri Employment Security Law

Information Regarding the Quarterly Statement of Benefit Charges

This information is intended to help you understand
the Division of Employment Security’s (DES)
quarterly Statement of Benefit Charges. The term
employer includes non-profit organizations, governmental
entities and all businesses operating as proprietorships,
partnerships, corporations, or LLCs.

Benefit Charges

You may receive notices of new or renewed claims
when former employees file for Missouri unemployment
benefits.

Failure to protest these claims will result in a benefit
charge to your account. Any separation issue not protested
within 10 days after notification of an initial claim filing
cannot be honored if you wait to raise the issue until you
receive your Statement of Benefit Charges.

Statement of Benefit Charges

The DES is required to mail a Statement of Benefit
Charges (MODES-34) to employers each quarter when a
charge or credit is made to the employer’s account. The
Statement of Benefit Charges is mailed by the 30th of
the month following the end of each calendar quarter. If
charges or credits are not made on your account, you will
not receive a statement that quarter.

Be sure to read the instruction sheet included with your
statement for helpful tips to understand your Statement of
Benefit Charges.

The Statement of Benefit Charges notes the
unemployment claim weeks paid to each claimant and the
amount charged for the unemployment benefits paid. The
charge may or may not equal the weekly unemployment
benefit paid to the claimant.

The amount of benefits chargeable to an employer during
the quarter is obtained by multiplying the unemployment
benefits paid to a claimant by a ratio that is produced by

dividing the claimant’s total base period wages from that
employer by the claimant’s total base period wages from
all employers.

For example, if the ratio produced by dividing the wages
the employer paid the claimant by the total amount of the

claimant’s base period wages equals 25 percent and the
claimant’s weekly benefit amount is $100, the amount
of benefit charges to the employer is $25 for each claim
week paid to the claimant during the quarter.

Benefit Year and Base Period

When an individual files a new unemployment claim and
has earned enough wages in insured work, an effective
date or benefit year beginning date is established. The
claim will last one year from this date. Benefit eligibility
depends on wages earned during the claimant’s base
period. The maximum weekly benefit amount (WBA) is
$320 with a total benefit amount of $6,400. A maximum
of 20 weeks may be claimed during a benefit year. If the
claimed weeks are paid at less than the established WBA
due to wages reported, then weeks may be claimed until
the benefit year ends, or the maximum benefit amount is
exhausted.

The base period of a claim is defined as the first four
of the previous five completed calendar quarters
immediately preceding the quarter in which the claim
benefit year begins.

See the chart below to determine the base period of an
unemployment claim. Locate the month the claim was
filed in an unshaded box. The base period is the shaded
region directly left of it.
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Method of Financing

A for-profit employer is always a tax-paying, contributing
employer. Any governmental entity, Indian Tribe,

or non-profit organization that meets the IRS code
requirements described in Section 501(c)(3) may choose
either the contributing method or elect to become liable
for payments in lieu of contributions. This is called the
reimbursement method.

The Statement of Benefit Charges is not a bill. However,
the Statement of Benefit Charges for reimbursable
employers will have a debit memo attached advising

the total amount due. This amount should be submitted
promptly to the DES.

When Payments Are Not Chargeable
Charges to Contributing Employers

Monetary factors that prevent charges to a contributing
employer’s account:

1. The claimant was paid $400 or less by the employer
during the entire base period of the claim.

2. The claimant was on a probationary period of 28
consecutive calendar days or less and such probation
was reported to the DES on the quarterly report in
which the employment was performed. The instructions

for reporting can be found online at www.labor.mo.gov/

sites/labor/files/pubs_forms/MODES-4-5-Al.pdf.

Nonmonetary factors that prevent charges to a
contributing employer’s account exist if the deputy’s
determination:

1. Disqualifies the claimant for being discharged due to
misconduct connected with the work, or for quitting
without good cause attributable to the work or the
employer.

2. Disqualifies the claimant for failure without good cause
to accept suitable work offered by a former employer.

3. Finds the claimant quit to accept more remunerative
work, or quit temporary work with the employer to
return to work for a regular employer.

4. Finds the claimant quit work, which was determined
not suitable, within 28 calendar days of the first day
worked.

5. Finds the employer was required to discharge the
claimant because the claimant was placed on the
Employee Disqualification List maintained by the
Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services
or a Disqualification Registry maintained by the
Department of Mental Health after the date of hire.

6. Finds the claimant quit work to accompany their
military spouse who received a mandatory and
permanent military change of station order.

Employing part-time workers may create a situation that
allows charges already made to be credited at a later
time. Charges may be credited if the employer continued
to employ the individual on a regular basis each week
claimed during the charged period, to at least the same
extent that the employer previously had employed the
individual, and if the employer informs the DES within
30 days from the date of the Statement of Benefit
Charges.

Non-Relief

If the claimant was incorrectly paid because the
employer or employer’s agent failed to respond timely or
adequately to a written request for information, and there
is an established pattern of failing to respond timely or
adequately, the employer’s account will not be relieved
of charges for the incorrect payments (Rule 8 CSR
10-4.210). A pattern is established based on the instances
of failure in relation to the total volume of requests.

Charges to Reimbursable Employers

The factors stated that prevent charges to a contributing
employer will not exempt the reimbursable employer
from charges for all benefit payments.

If you have questions regarding your Statement of Benefit
Charges, contact:

Benefit Charge Unit
573-751-4034
Fax 573-751-3312

IMPORTANT: If needed, call 573-751-4034 for assistance in the translation and understanding of the

information in this document.

JIMPORTANTE!: Si es necesario, llame al 573-751-4034 para asistencia en la traduccion y entendimiento

de la informacion en este documento.

Missouri Division of Employment Security is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services
are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. TDD/TTY: 800-735-2966  Relay Missouri: 711
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